Enter your keyword

What are the differences between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001?

  • Structure

One of the biggest differences you’ll notice between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001 is how the standard is structured. The structure of ISO 45001 is based on the Annex-L framework.

  • Hazard identification

ISO 45001 also places a greater emphasis on risk management. Unlike OHSAS 18001, which only focused on controlling known hazards, ISO 45001 requires organizations to proactively identify sources or situations that have the potential to cause harm

  • Management commitment

Another change from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001 is a greater emphasis on management commitment and involvement. Under ISO 45001, safety management is no longer just the safety manager’s job. The new standard calls for C-suite executives to take an active and visible role in the safety program.